Studying hallucinogenic plants in cultural anthropology

© 2013 M.O. Orlova

_______________________________________________________________

Key words: hallucinogens, ayahuasca, San Pedro cactus, ethnobotany, transcultural psychotherapy, transcultural psychiatry, South America

Summary: This piece is a foreword to the translation of two chapters from Marlene Dobkin de Rios book “Psychedelic Journey of Marlene Dobkin de Rios: 45 Years with Shamans, Ayahuasqueros, and Ethnobotanists” (2009). Both foreword and translation were carried out by M.O. Orlova, a graduate student at N.N. Miklukho-Maklay Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology RAS, who talks about the life and research of M. Dobkin de Rios, underlying the value of hallucinogens studies for the development of modern psychology and medicine.

_______________________________________________________________

The book “Psychedelic Journey of Marlene Dobkin de Rios: 45 Years with Shamans, Ayahuasqueros, and Ethnobotanists” (2009) is a scientific autobiography, as well as memoirs and an overview of earlier works of the author. It was published in 2009; the book sums up the author’s experience at that point in time.

Marlene Dobkin de Rios was fighting with an oncological disease during the last years of her life. It seems that this fact is reflected in the contents of the book and the confidential tone with which the author shares her findings.

Research on psychedelics is a “hot” topic attracting esoteric seekers and psychoactive drugs’ users; the topic that ruined more than one career. However, Marlene Dobkin de Rios is committed to thorough investigation, being an anthropologist and psychologist, researcher with solid experience of fieldwork and historiographical analysis. Augmenting scientific knowledge about the place of hallucinogens in various cultures was per se the goal of the research carried out by Marlene Dobkin de Rios: “… I see the search for knowledge as a spiritual enterprise. It really feels good to know things and to respect diverse belief systems and to try to suppress one’s deeply socialized ethnocentrism…” (Dobkin de Rios, 2009, p. 171).

At present we see an emerging trend to carry out applied research in anthropology and ethnology (Barnard, 2009). To a large extent this is true for medical anthropology and research on hallucinogenic plants in particular. Anthropological findings may be an important source of development of the topical subfields of psychology and medicine, such as transcultural psychotherapy and psychiatry (Karvasarsky, 2002). These disciplines focus on adapting psychotherapeutic methods from other cultures, as well as on the challenges provoked by the use of such methods and their cultural adaptation. De facto hallucinogenic plants are involved in very different therapeutic contexts; they are successively used to treat substance abuse, affective and psychosomatic disorders (Mabit, 2002; Labate et al., 2011; Krupitsky et al., 2002).

Marlene Dobkin de Rios certainly considered possibilities of practical application of her findings. In the epilogue to her book she writes about reasons for studying psychedelics: “…We may wish to apply newly acquired wisdom to our own self-understanding, an understanding of the world we live in, and the lived worlds of others. Or we may wish to apply that knowledge to the betterment of humankind. For some of us, knowing in itself is sacred. For others it is merely a tool to participate in self-understanding, while still others are engaged in a focus on the need for social and cultural change and to learn from these traditions…” (Dobkin de Rios, 2009, p. 172).

In this issue of “Medical Anthropology and Bioethics” we publish two brief chapters from the book by Marlene Dobkin de Rios. Why were they selected? The key reason is that currency of plant hallucinogens research can be distinctly seen based on the example of these chapters. The data set forth in it provide the material for reflection on the role of psychoactive substances in traditional and in the modern cultures, as well as on opportunities and limitations of its practical use by modern man – in the context of medical practices and in connection with anthropological research on the psychoactive substances, including such legal stimulators as tobacco and alcohol, in everyday life.

In one of the given chapters the role of psychoactive substances in teenagers socialization in traditional societies is compared to western societies. The author’s conclusions are deplorable for the modern western civilization: while in traditional cultures psychoactive substances use ensures harmonious transition through age crises, socialization of teenagers and eventually the society integration, in the modern society, to the contrary, not being authorized by the cultural norms, beyond regulation provided by rituals, it affects destructively on users.

In the second given chapter two plant remedies with hallucinogenic properties widely used in Amazonas tribal cultures are taken into consideration – these are ayahuasca  and tobacco. The author raises a question of benefits vs. harm caused by these substances. It has to be noted that actually the text deals with exclusively its benefits – the role in human psyche regulation and in healing. Negative aspects of psychoactive substances use are considered in detail in other chapters of the book – the author is by no means advocate of psychoactive substances abuse and its popularization through mass media. At the same time the approach of Marlene Dobkin de Rios towards hallucinogens as the component of efficient medical practices seems to deserve consideration in the framework of medical anthropology.

Literature

Barnard, A. (2009), Social anthropology: studying the social life of humans, Moscow.

Karvasarsky, B.D. (2002), Psychotherapeutic encyclopedia, 2nd edition, Piter, Saint-Petersburg.

Dobkin de Rios, M. (2009), The Psychedelic Journey of Marlene Dobkin de Rios: 45 Years with Shamans, Ayahuasqueros, and Ethnobotanists, Park Street Press.

Krupitsky, E., Burakov, A., Romanova, T., Dunaevsky, I., Strassman, R. and Grinenko, A. (2002),“Ketamine psychotherapy for heroin addiction: immediate effects and two-year follow-up”, Journal of substance abuse treatment, Vol. 23, pp. 273–283.

Labate, B.C. and Jungaberle, H. (2011), The Internationalization of Ayahuasca, LIT-Verlag, Zürich.

Mabit, J. (2002),“Blending Traditions: Using Indigenous Medicinal Knowledge to Treat Drug Addiction”, MAPS, Bulletin of the Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies, Vol. XII, No. 2, pp. 25–32.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Опыт исследования растительных галлюциногенов в культурной антропологии

© 2013 М.О. Орлова

МАиБ 2013 – № 1 (5)


Ключевые слова: растительные галлюциногены, аяуаска, табак, психоактивные вещества, химическая зависимость, транскультурная психотерапия, социализация подростков, прикладные исследования в антропологии

Аннотация: Данная работа является предисловием М.О. Орловой к её переводу двух небольших глав из книги М. Добкин де Риос «Психоделическое путешествие Марлен Добкин де Риос: 45 лет с шаманами, аяуаскеро и этноботаниками». Автор рассказывает о жизни и исследованиях Добкин де Риос, делая акцент на значении исследований растительных галлюциногенов в традиционных культурах для развития современной психологии и медицины.


Книга «Психоделическое путешествие Марлен Добкин де Риос: 45 лет с шаманами, аяуаскеро и этноботаниками» – своеобразная научная автобиография, одновременно мемуары и обзор прежних публикаций. Она издана в 2009 году; это обобщение опыта автора на тот момент.

Марлен Добкин де Риос боролась с онкологическим заболеванием в последние годы своей жизни. Думается, это не могло не отразиться на содержании книги и той доверительной интонации, с которой автор делится своими находками.

Исследование психоделиков – «скандальная» тема, привлекающая эзотериков и потребителей психоактивных веществ, погубившая не одну научную карьеру. Однако Добкин де Риос остается на позициях добросовестного ученого – антрополога и психолога в одном лице, исследователя с большим опытом полевой работы и историографического анализа. Приращение знаний о месте психоделических растений в культуре само по себе было целью научной работы исследовательницы:  «…В стремлении к знанию я вижу свою духовную миссию. Меня действительно вдохновляют процесс познания, уважение к многообразным системам верований и стремление сдерживать свой глубоко социализированный этноцентризм», – пишет автор (Dobkin de Rios,  2009, c. 171).

В настоящее время набирает силу тенденция к развитию прикладных исследований в антропологии и этнологии (Барнард, 2009). Это в значительной степени касается медицинской антропологии, в частности, и исследований растительных галлюциногенов. Данные антропологических исследований могут стать важнейшим источником развития для таких актуальных направлений психологии и медицины, как транскультурная психотерапия и психиатрия (Карвасарский, 2002), в связи с их вниманием к вопросам заимствования психотерапевтических методов из других культур, а также к трудностям, связанным с применением таких методов и их культурной адаптацией. Де факто растительные галлюциногены входят в самые разнообразные терапевтические контексты, с успехом используются для лечения химической зависимости, аффективных и психосоматических расстройств (Mabit, 2002, Labate et al., 2011, Krupitsky et al., 2002).

Марлен Добкин де Риос, безусловно, имела в виду возможности практического приложения результатов своих исследований. В эпилоге к своей книге, говоря о мотивации изучения психоделиков, она пишет: «Мы можем захотеть использовать вновь обретенную мудрость для понимания самих себя, понимания мира, в котором мы живем, и миров, в которых живут другие. Или же мы можем захотеть использовать наше знание для улучшения человечества. Для некоторых из нас знание само по себе является священным. Для иных это просто орудие в понимании самих себя, в то время как другие фокусируются на необходимости социальных и культурных изменений и обучении через познание этих традиций» (Dobkin de Rios, 2009, c. 172).

В журнале публикуется перевод двух небольших глав из книги М. Добкин де Риос. Почему выбор пал именно на них? Главная причина состоит в том, что на их примере отчетливо можно увидеть актуальность исследований растительных галлюциногенов. Изложенные в них данные дают материал для размышления о роли психоактивных веществ в традиционной и современной культурах, а также о возможностях и ограничениях их практического применения современным человеком – как в контексте медицинских практик, так и в связи с антропологическим изучением роли психоактивных веществ, включая и такие легальные стимуляторы, как табак и алкоголь, в повседневной жизни.

В одной из них приведенных глав сопоставляется роль психоактивных веществ в социализации подростков в традиционных обществах и в западных. Выводы автора неутешительны для современной западной цивилизации: в то время как в традиционных культурах потребление психоактивных веществ обеспечивает гармоничный переход через возрастные кризисы, социализацию подростков и, в конечном счете, интеграцию общества, в западном обществе оно, напротив, деструктивно влияет на потребителей, не будучи санкционированным культурными нормами, вне регуляции, обеспечиваемой ритуалами.

Во второй главе речь идет о двух растительных средствах с галлюциногенными свойствами, широко используемых в культуре индейцев бассейна Амазонки – аяуаске и табаке. Автор задается вопросом о пользе vs. вреде этих веществ. Заметим, что в тексте фактически речь идет исключительно об их пользе – роли в регуляции психики человека и в лечении. Негативные аспекты употребления психоактивных веществ подробно рассматриваются в других главах книги – автор отнюдь не является апологетом бесконтрольного потребления психоактивных веществ и их популяризации в массовой культуре. В то же время представляется, что подход Марлен Добкин де Риос к галлюциногенам как к компоненту эффективных медицинских практик заслуживает внимания и развития в рамках медицинской антропологии.

Библиография

Барнард, А. (2009), Социальная антропология: исследуя социальную жизнь людей, ИЭА РАН, Москва.

Карвасарский, Б.Д. (2002), Психотерапевтическая энциклопедия, Изд. 2-е, перераб., Питер, Санкт-Петербург.

Dobkin de Rios, M. (2009), The Psychedelic Journey of Marlene Dobkin de Rios: 45 Years with Shamans, Ayahuasqueros, and Ethnobotanists, Park Street Press, Rochester VT.

Krupitsky, E., Burakov, A., Romanova, T., Dunaevsky, I., Strassman, R. and Grinenko, A. (2002), Ketamine psychotherapy for heroin addiction: immediate effects and two-year follow-up. Journal of substance abuse treatment, Vol. 23, сс. 273­–283.

Labate, B. C. and Jungaberle, H. (2011), The Internationalization of Ayahuasca, LIT-Verlag, Zürich.

Mabit, J. (2002), “Blending Traditions: Using Indigenous Medicinal Knowledge to Treat Drug Addiction”, MAPS, Bulletin of the Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies, vol. XII, nª 2, сс. 25–32.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *