Review on the collection of scientific papers “Obshestvo remissii: na puti k narrativnoy medicine” (“The society of remission: on the way to narrative medicine”)

© 2013 E.I. Kirilenko

_______________________________________________________________

Key words: research in humanities, narrative medicine, medical and anthropological discourse, interdisciplinary research, cultural and historical approach

Abstract: In the framework of the review of the collection of scientific papers “Obshestvo remissii: na puti k narrativnoy medicine” (“The society of remission: on the way to narrative medicine”), the author highlights 3 main topics: development of narrative medicine, analysis and development of modern medical and anthropological discourse framework, elaboration of theoretical instruments and concepts of medical and anthropological research. Among all the works, presented in the collection, the author favours the most the articles by V.Lekhtzier, D.Mikhel and B.Ivkov, analyzing their content in detail.

_______________________________________________________________

The interest of humanitarian research to medicine is very great nowadays (it may be comparable only with the interest to law topics. Compare: M. Foucault – a medicine theorist and a prison history researcher).

The collection under review is a significant phenomenon in Russian human sciences since it helps to reveal some quality changes in the attitude of humanitarian knowledge towards medicine. Let us address three points: detailed description of one of the strategies of modern medical treatment – narrative medicine – is given in the collection. The framework of concepts of medical and anthropological discourse is being developed in the context of discussion of humanitarian problems of medicine, which, therefore, contributes to formulation of methodological basis, possible institutionalization of medical anthropology as a trend of modern interdisciplinary research.

Multicultural reality forms a diversified image of medicine. V. Konovalov distinguished five leading strategies of medical treatment in the modern world using primarily cultural and historical approach as a basis: scientific (western), eastern, folk medicine (ethnomedicine), homeopathy, healer medicine (Konovalov, 1996). The latest trends in medicine are diverse as well: narrative, behavioral, “medicine and culture”, evidence-based, personalized medicine, biomedicine, etc. The latter three rest upon the complex of natural-science and mathematic approaches, the first ones consolidate mainly around humanitarian axis.

The division here goes along the line where a major problem of modern medicine is defined: intensive development of scientific approaches, technical support of medicine and discrepancy between these opportunities and patients’ expectations, mismatch of scientific, scientific and technical and humanitarian components, inability of doctors to “see” and “hear” their patient, split between medical expectations of the modern society and those functions that are at the foreground in modern scientific medical support (I. Illich talks about clinical, social and cultural destructions (“iatrogenesis”) caused by modern medicine, as well as involvement of the patient in the sphere of political relationships (Mikhel’, 2011, p. 258)).

One of the indications of ill-being in this sphere is complete separation that gains on doctors and patients, the sick and the healthy, a gap that appears inside a medical community (Lekhtsier, 2012, p. 110).

A possible response to this situation is the development of narrative medicine. This is the first important subject matter of the book. For the first time in Russian literature the exhaustive presentation of this strategy is made: the theory and practices of “talking” (Gotlib, A.S.) medicine are laid out, the reasons, origins and peculiarities of this trend are investigated, doctors’ and patients’ narratives are analyzed, the possibility of using narrative practices from the perspective of patients and doctors is revealed. The experience of North American medicine is complemented by the research of the experience of cooperation between doctors and patients in Russia.

The requirement to introduce patient’s narrative into medical practice is one of the ways to control the disease (Lekhtsier, 2012, p. 278). Attention to the situation of illness, recognition of a chronic patient as a central figure of modern medicine put forward the concept of “the remission society”. And this is another important theme of the book – analysis and development of modern medical and anthropological discourse concept framework. Saturation of daily medical experience with multiple mythological constructs (the myths of saturation, nutrition, hydration, purgation, etc.), intensification of medical thematization in cultural consciousness, establishment of the concept of disease including chronic disease as a priority one in modern cultural discourse, an attempt to present the history of culture as a “history of pain” – all these topics make it possible to put forward the concept of “the remission society” in a row of comparable analogs in determining modern society identity.

A corresponding terminological set is being developed in this research aspect: medicalization of the society, disease as a nosological entity and as experience (D. Mikhel’ suggests distinguishing illness and disease (Mikhel’, 2011, p. 40)), disease and pain as social and cultural phenomena as opposed to objectivistic model of disease; chronic patient as a central figure of the modern medicine; the remission society, disease as a biographic situation, biographic break and biographic adjustment to disease, etc.

The efforts to develop theoretic tools, notions and concepts influence the situation of consolidation of heterogeneous and multidirectional medical and anthropological studies – and this is the third theme of the book under review. The task of coupling medicine and humanities knowledge running like a golden thread through the contemporary history and epigrammatized by M. Foucault – the place of medicine is paramount in the “architecture of human sciences” –  finds its expression in Russian practice in the tendency towards integration of medical and humanitarian studies in a strategy that forms in a particular way.

The conception of the book is formulated in the introduction: the remission society (the subject mater of the first chapter) puts forward the figure of a chronic patient, and his experience is not only a routine element of a traditional medical history but it becomes an important condition of humanization of medicine and increase of its therapeutic effectiveness. The phenomenon of narrative medicine is the subject matter of the second chapter of the book. The cultural aspect of the analysis (disease as a phenomenon of a cultural narrative) is the subject matter of the third chapter.

Authentic texts on theory and practice of narrative medicine are presented in the fourth chapter of the book.

We would like to specially dwell on four articles out of fifteen diverse and original articles presented in the book.

This is, first of all, the text by V. Lekhtsier. We are not talking about his main article with a comprehensive analysis of the narrative medicine based on the most interesting source – the works of R. Charon, an American doctor. We are referring to his introduction to the book named “Byt’ uslyshannym…” (“Get a hearing…”). One should agree with the author that the concept of the remission society is the important experience in the search of self-identity which helps the modern society understand something important about itself. This concept is absolutely natural and convincing, it corresponds to multiple intuitions in modern culture. If it “suddenly” became clear to V. Veresaev, a sophomore who was just learning medicine, that there are no healthy people, everybody is ill: “a normal man is an ill man”, then it seems logical that a new medical motto is getting established in public consciousness of the medicalized society: there are no healthy people, only under-examined ones . This intuition of a nonclassical culture (Freud talked about total neurotization of the modern society) is documented in the contingence of the situation of health and illness (according to Selye, stress can cause an unhealthy condition but at the same time it is “appetite for and fragrance of life”). It appeared in attempts to search for a positive sense of disease. As it is pointed out by V. Filatov, a contemporary researcher, “in the XX century scientific interpretation of the phenomenon of disease implies denying of a strict opposition “health – disease” and the traditional definition of these notions as different in essence” (Filatov, 2002, p. 6). Probably only contemporary experience could prompt such a metaphor of a disease to a poet: “Flue in October is all-seeing like the God. / Like angels with the wings of dragonflies, / Rhinitises fly off the skies before the winter season / And bewitch our bodies” (by Bella Akhmadulina). These intuitions correspond with the formula of Arthur Frank, an American researcher: a modern world is the remission society. Additional justification of this concept appears as a result of its inclusion in the stylistics of postmodern consciousness which is oriented towards erasing of differences, oppositions and contradictions – and this is also original argumentation of V. Lekhtsier.

However, recalling K. Popper’s logic of reasoning, the boundaries of applicability of this concept should be defined. There is a liberal counterargument: one third of all ill people who do not belong to chronic ones turn out to be non-legitimate in the remission society. There is a cross-cultural counterargument: can it be presupposed that acquisition of the concept of  remission society as a successful identity formation of a modern civilization corresponds to deep national archetypes with their melancholic orientation (K. Bogdanov recalls M. Gorky’s words that “Russian literature is the most pessimistic literature in Europe” (Bogdanov, 2005))? There is a historical and cultural argument: the issues of disease prevention, healthy lifestyle are actively present in modern cultural consciousness – this is the developed and differentiated practice which is determined by the conception of healthy society and is inherited from the past. One can remember that early Greeks, for example, knew phylaxis (the art of health maintenance) besides prophylaxis (the art of preventing diseases) (Levin, 1887, p. 873).

We would like to point out innovatory (for Russian literature) way of interpretation of the idea of top-priority role of chronic diseases in the disease structure of the modern society. It drastically changes the perspective of disease analysis applying additional explanatory scheme. Besides linear representation (disease as an incidental occasional phenomenon on the life path, infectious diseases giving way to diseases of civilizations) a wave scheme of diseased conditions (chronic-remission) is being established.

The notion that chronic but not acute case is the dominant idea in doctor’s system of reference allows to correct the beliefs about the peculiarities and tasks of modern scientific medicine. “The medicine of acute conditions” probably should give up its place to “maternalistic1” (V. Lekhtsier) medicine with its main purpose: care for the patient through his whole life.

The article by D. Mikhel’ is the introduction to the history of formation of medical anthropology, the trend which includes a wide range of medical and humanitarian studies and is actively developed abroad and in modern Russia. Noting that only some elements of medical and anthropological studies are found in the Soviet literature (to be fair one can refer to rather active and effective practice of humanitarian study of medicine in Russia at the end of the 19th  – first third of the 20th centuries (Rossiiskii, 1923; Vinogradov, 1923) ), the author actually does the most important work gleaning a holistic picture of medical anthropology as the most important trend in current interdisciplinary research. The author offers historiography of medical and anthropological research, defines terminology and key concepts. D. Mikhel’ noticed that the notions of experience of pain and disease are an organic result of anthropologists’ interest in the phenomena of disease and health. Rich empirical data is given in the article, cultural side of disease experience is underlined. The most important thematization of medical and anthropological studies is experience of the body. The author draws attention to its possible modifications (the individual, the social and the political body, gender aspects of corporality). As a contribution to the development of perceptions of organization of medical experience one could suggest its structuring based on the analysis of a linguistic situation and allowing to point out six main elements: these are experience of the body, attitude to the doctor, notion of the patient’s figure, notion of disease and health, medicinal practice.

  1. Ivkov offers methodology of biographical analysis of a disease experience based on a wide range of studies including the approaches of Alfred Schütz, an Austrian philosopher, and a biographical method of Fritz Schütze, a contemporary German sociologist (probably it is worth pointing out the figure of Fritz Schütze – see the work under review, p. 77). Conceptual tools, which allow for analysis of the “narrative of a chronic patient as a pathway of pain”, distinctions appearing here, structural and dynamic features of this experience, are studied in detail in the article.

Revelation of structures of biographic processes reflecting inclusion of a disease in the life experience can obtain substantive development and significant didactic sense if we approach the layer of cultural history disclosing clinical aspects of the biography of its cultural heroes. This genre of study of the “diseases of great people”, which is all-liked by medical men for the opportunity to hone one’s professional skills, includes humanitarian and scientific and medical components and gives a perfect opportunity to see disease in a biography as an important part of it using appropriate tools. Thus, A. Blok’s biomedical pathway of disease (subacute bacterial endocarditis) is combined with acute worldview and existential crisis: “there is not enough air”. This approach does not solve immediate therapeutic problems but it cultivates an individualized view on a disease, forms the skill of seeing the development of pathology as a fact of biography beyond the scope of biomedical pathway of a disease, assimilating the experience of living with disease accumulated in culture, “cultivating the skills of compassion and emotional response” in medical students (A.S. Gotlib) and in such a way trying to go away from one-dimensional figure of a doctor-technologist.

The works by K. Bogdanov are well known to Russian readers: the researcher restored and enriched the line of correlation of literature and medicine that was developed yet by A.P. Chekhov who studied “medical practice in Russia” on the material of folk tradition, historical texts.

Obviously this tradition has historic and literary value, but not only. Russian literature of the 19th century, overcoming, according to I. Kondakov, the borders of art, was a kind of a tool for socio-cultural research. This experience of “mirroring” medical plots in cultural consciousness, existing in literature, allowed to study the peculiarities and laws of development of medical discourse in the context of culture, on the one hand, and to reveal cultural semantics of medical artifacts on the other hand. The suggested plot is the great study guide for current dentist students allowing to reveal cultural connotations in the sphere of their professional activities, and at the same time to observe the laws of “dentistry” establishing in Russia.

In conclusion it should be noted that the book under review is an innovative and ingenious phenomenon in Russian literature.

These are the needs of life that dictate the search for new approaches in medical and humanitarian studies. It is not once that the opposition between “highways” and “paths” in Russian medicine was observed. Declarations and experience of scientific and technic and technological development of modern scientific medicine (biomedicine, high tech medicine) contrast to real situation in Russian healthcare services, which gives rise to a logical question: whom does this feast of intellectual and technical thoughts address if only 3 % of the people interviewed in 2011 said that the situation in the Russian healthcare services was good, and 58 % of them said that it was bad2; if, according to 2012 poll, healthcare services rank third among underdeveloped sectors after agricultural industry and forestry3; if people “avoid going to clinics”4.

Notes

  1. Compare: in the novel “Rakovyi Korpus (Cancer ward)” by Solzhenitsyn medical staff called Lydmila Afanasyevna Dontsova, a chief of the department, “mother”.
  2. http://bd.fom.ru/report/map/d111807/printable/
  3. http://fom.ru/ekonomika/10577
  4. http://fom.ru/blogs/10522

Literature

  1. Bogdanov, K.A. (2005), Doctors, patients, readers : patographic texts of the Russian culture of XVIII-XIX centuries, OGI, Moscow.
  2. Filatov, F.R. (2002), “The phenomenon of a disease in different knowledge systems: a conflict of interpretations”, Moskovskiy Psikhoterapevticheskiy Zhurnal, №2, p. 6.
  3. Konovalov, V.V. (1996), “The crisis of medicine at the turn of XXI century and the ways of recovery from it”, Chelovek, №1, pp. 106-119.
  4. Lekhtsier, V.L. (2012), “Narrative medicine: the bright utopia of Rita Charon?”, The society of remission: on the way to narrative medicine, p. 110.
  5. Levin, A.M. (1887), “Aretaeus of Cappadocia (A sketch from the history of Greek medicine)”, Vrach, №45. p. 873.
  6. Mikhel’, D.V. (2011), “Medicalization as a social phenomenon”, Vestnik SGTU, №4(60), 2nd ed, p. 258.
  7. Rossiiskii, D.M. (1923), The history of general and Russian medicine and healthcare service). Bibliography (996-1954), Moscow.
  8. Vinogradov, G.S. (1923), Studying folk medicine from Russian population of Siberia, GubVPO Press, Irkutsk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Рецензия на сборник научных трудов «Общество ремиссии: на пути к нарративной медицине»     

© 2013 Е.И. Кириленко

МАиБ 2013 – № 1 (5)


Ключевые слова: гуманитарные исследования, нарративная медицина, медико-антропологический дискурс, междисциплинарные исследования, культурно-исторический подход

Аннотация: В рамках рецензирования сборника научных трудов «Общество ремиссии: на пути к нарративной медицине» автор статьи выделяет 3 основные темы: развитие нарративной медицины, анализ и развитие аппарата современного медико-антропологического дискурса, разработка теоретического инструментария, понятий и концептов медико-антропологических исследований. Особое внимание среди работ, представленных в сборнике, следует уделить работам В. Лехциера, Д. Михеля, Б. Ивков – на их рассмотрении автор обзора останавливается подробно.


Интерес гуманитарных исследований к медицине ныне весьма высок (он сравним, может быть, только с интересом к правовой проблематике: ср. М. Фуко – теоретик медицины и исследователь истории тюрем).

Рецензируемый сборник – знаковое явление в отечественной гуманитаристике, ибо позволяет выявить некоторые качественные изменения в отношении гуманитарного знания к медицине. Остановимся на трех моментах: в сборнике предлагается развернутая характеристика одной из стратегий современного врачевания – нарративной медицины. В контексте обсуждения гуманитарных проблем медицины осуществляется разработка концептуального аппарата медико-антропологического дискурса, что, таким образом, способствует выработке методологических оснований, возможности последующей институционализации в российской науке медицинской антропологии как направления современных междисциплинарных исследований.

Поликультурная реальность формирует множественный образ медицины. В. Коновалов, взяв за основу по преимуществу культурно-исторический подход, выделял пять ведущих стратегий врачевания в современном мире: научную (западную), восточную, народную медицину (этномедицину), гомеопатию, медицину целителей (Коновалов, 1996). Столь же разноплановы новейшие направления: нарративная медицина, поведенческая, «медицина и культура», доказательная, персонализированная медицина, биомедицина и т.д. Последние три направления опираются на комплекс естественнонаучных и математических подходов, первые в значительной мере консолидируются вокруг гуманитарной оси.

Разделение здесь проходит по линии, где обозначена важнейшая проблема современной медицины: интенсивное развитие научных подходов, технического обеспечения медицины – и несоответствие этих возможностей ожиданиям пациентов, рассогласование естественно-научной, научно-технической и гуманитарной составляющей, неспособность врачей «увидеть» и «услышать» своего пациента, раскол между медицинскими ожиданиями современного общества и теми функциями, которые выступают на первый план в современном научном медицинском обеспечении (И. Иллич говорит о порождаемых современной медициной клинической, социальной, культурной деструкциях («ятрогенезах»), а также вовлечение пациента в сферу политических отношений – см.: Михель, 2011, с. 258).

Один из признаков неблагополучия в этой сфере – тотальное размежевание, настигающее врачей и больных, больных и здоровых, «пропасть», возникающая и внутри медицинского сообщества (Лехциер, 2012, с. 110).

Возможный ответ на эту ситуацию – развитие нарративной медицины. Это первая важная тема сборника. Впервые в отечественной литературе предпринимается всесторонняя презентация этой стратегии: излагаются теория и практики «разговаривающей» (А.С. Готлиб) медицины, исследуются причины, истоки и особенности этого направления, анализируются нарративы врачей и пациентов, выявляется возможность использования нарративных практик с позиции пациентов и врачей. Опыт североамериканской медицины дополняется исследованием опыта сотрудничества врачей и пациентов в России.

Потребность ввести в медицинскую практику нарратив больного – один из способов поставить болезнь под контроль (Лехциер, 2012, с. 278). Внимание к ситуации болезни, признание хронического больного центральной фигурой современной медицины выдвигает на первый план концепт «общества ремиссии». И это другая важная тема сборника – анализ и разработка аппарата современного медико-антропологического дискурса. Насыщение повседневного медицинского опыта множеством мифологических конструктов (мифы насыщения, питания, увлажнения, очищения и т.д.), интенсификация медицинских тематизаций в культурном сознании, утверждение концепта болезни, в том числе болезни хронической  в качестве приоритетного в современном культурном дискурсе, попытка представить историю культуры как «историю боли», – все эти сюжеты делают возможным вывести концепт общества ремиссии на первый план в ряду сопоставимых аналогов в определении идентичности современного общества.

В этом исследовательском ракурсе выстраивается соответствующий терминологический ряд: медикализация общества, болезнь как нозологическая форма и как опыт (Д. Михель указывает, что в западной медицинской антропологии принято различать заболевание и болезнь – Михель, 2012, с. 40), болезнь и боль как социальные и культурные явления в противоположность объективистской модели болезни; хронический больной как центральная фигура современной медицины; общество ремиссии, болезнь как биографическая ситуация, биографический разлом и биографическое приспособление к болезни и т.д.

Усилия по разработке теоретического инструментария, понятий и концептов влияют на ситуацию консолидации разнородных и разнонаправленных медико-антропологических исследований – и это третья тема рецензируемого сборника. Красной нитью проходящая в новейшей истории задача сопряжения медицины и гуманитарного знания, афористически сформулированная М. Фуко: место медицины –  первостепенное в «архитектуре гуманитарных наук» – находит выражение  в отечественной практике в тенденции к интеграции медико-гуманитарных исследований в особым образом оформляющуюся стратегию.

Концепция сборника сформулирована во введении: «общество ремиссии» (тема первого раздела) на первый план выдвигает фигуру хронического больного, и его опыт является не только рутинным элементом традиционного анамнеза, но становится важным условием гуманизации медицины и повышения ее терапевтической эффективности. Феномен нарративной медицины – тема второго раздела сборника. Выход в культурный горизонт анализа (болезнь как явление культурного нарратива) – тема третьего раздела. Аутентичные тексты по теории и практике нарративной медицины представлены в четвертом разделе сборника.

Из полутора десятков разноплановых и оригинальных статей, имеющихся в сборнике, хотелось бы специально остановиться на четырех.

Это, прежде всего, материал В. Лехциера. Имеется в виду не та статья автора, где с опорой на интереснейший источник – работы американского врача Р. Шэрон – предлагается всесторонний анализ нарративной медицины, а предисловие к изданию «Быть услышанным…». Следует согласиться с автором, что концепт «общества ремиссии» – важный опыт поиска самоидентичности, позволяющий современному обществу понять нечто важное о самом себе. Он совершенно органичен и убедителен, соответствует множественным интуициям в культуре наших дней. Если осваивавшему медицину второкурснику В. Вересаеву «вдруг» открылось, что нет здоровых людей, все больны: «нормальный человек – это человек больной», то логичным кажется утверждение в массовом сознании медикализированного общества этой врачебной максимы: нет здоровых людей, есть недообследованные. Эта интуиция неклассической культуры (Фрейд говорил о тотальной невротизации современного общества), зафиксирована в сближении ситуации здоровья и болезни (у Селье стресс может обернуться болезненным явлением, но вместе с тем он есть «вкус и аромат жизни»). Она проявилась в попытках поиска позитивного смысла болезни. Как отмечает современный исследователь В. Филатов, «в ХХ веке научное истолкование феномена болезни предполагает отказ от жесткой оппозиции «здоровье-болезнь и от традиционного определения этих понятий как сущностно различных» (Филатов, 2002, с. 6). Наверное, только современный опыт мог подсказать поэту такую метафору болезни: «Грипп в октябре – всевидящ, как Господь. / Как ангелы на крыльях стрекозиных, / Слетают насморки с небес предзимних / И нашу околдовывают плоть» (Белла Ахмадуллина). Эти интуиции согласуются с формулой американского исследователя Артура Франка: современный мир – общество ремиссии. Дополнительное обоснование данного концепта возникает в результате включения его в стилистику постмодернистского сознания, ориентированного на стирание различий, противостояний, противопоставлений – и это тоже оригинальная аргументация В. Лехциера.

Однако, вспоминая логику К. Поппера, следовало бы определить границы применимости этого концепта. Либеральный контраргумент: треть больных, которые не относятся к хроникам, оказываются нелегитимны в обществе ремиссии. Кросскультурный контраргумент: нельзя ли предположить, что усвоение концепта общество ремиссии как удачного самоопределения современной цивилизации – соответствует глубинным национальным архетипам с их депрессивной направленностью (К. Богданов вспоминает слова М. Горького о том, что  «русская литература – самая пессимистическая литература в Европе» – Богданов, 2005: 22)? Историко-культурный аргумент: тема предупреждения болезней, здорового образа жизни активно присутствует в современном культурном сознании – это та разработанная и дифференцированная практика, которая задается концепцией здорового общества  и унаследована от прошлого. Можно вспомнить, что древние греки, например, помимо профилактики (искусство предупреждать болезни) знали филактику (искусство сохранять здоровье) (Левин, 1887, с. 873).

Хотелось бы отметить новаторский для отечественной литературы способ интерпретации идеи о приоритетной роли хронических заболеваний в структуре болезней современного общества. Он кардинально меняет ракурс анализа болезни, привлекая дополнительные объяснительные схемы. Помимо линейных представлений (болезнь как случайное, окказиональное явление на траектории жизни, инфекционные болезни уступают место болезням цивилизаций) утверждается – если угодно – волновая схема изменений болезненных состояний (хроника-ремиссия).

Представление о том, что не острый случай, а хроника – доминанта в системе координат врача, позволяет скорректировать представления об особенностях и задачах современной научной медицины. «Медицина острых состояний», возможно, должна уступить место «матерналистской» (В. Лехциер; ср. у Солженицына в повести «Раковый корпус» зав. отделением Людмилу Афанасьевну Донцову медицинский персонал называл «мамой») медицине  с ее главным назначением: сопровождении больного по жизни.

Статья Д. Михеля «Медицинская антропология: фокусируясь на здоровье и болезни» – это введение в историю становления медицинской антропологии, направления, вбирающего в себя широкий круг медико-гуманитарных исследований, активно развивающегося за рубежом и в современной России. Отмечая, что в советской литературе обнаруживаются лишь элементы медико-антропологических исследований (справедливости ради можно было бы сослаться на довольно активную и результативную практику гуманитарного изучения медицины в России в конце ХIХ – первой трети ХХ вв. – Российский, 1956, с. 938; см. также Виноградов, 1923, с. 56), автор, собственно, проделывает важнейшую работу, собирая по крупицам целостный образ медицинской антропологии как важнейшего направления современных междисциплинарных исследований. Д.В. Михель предлагает историографию медико-антропологических исследований, обозначает терминологию и ключевые концепты. Он обращает внимание на то, что понятия «опыт страдания» и «болезни» – органическое следствие интереса антропологов к феноменам болезни и здоровья. В статье приводится богатый эмпирический материал, отмечена культурная природа опыта болезни. Важнейшая тематизация медико-антропологических исследований – опыт тела. Автор обращает внимание на его возможные модификации (индивидуальное, социальное и политическое тело, гендерные аспекты телесности). В развитие представлений об организации медицинского опыта можно было бы предложить его структурирование, опирающееся на анализ лингвистической ситуации и позволяющее выделить шесть основных элементов: таковыми являются опыт тела, отношение к врачу, представление о фигуре больного, о болезни и здоровье, лекарственная практика.

Б. Ивков, опираясь на широкий круг исследований, в том числе на подходы австрийского философа Альфреда Щюца (Alfred Schütz) и биографический метод современного немецкого социолога Фрица Щютце (Fritz Schütze) (стоило бы, вероятно, все-таки выделить фигуру Фрица Шютце – см. рец. соч., с.77), предлагает методологию биографического анализа опыта болезни. В статье детально исследуется понятийный инструментарий, позволяющий анализировать «нарратив хронического больного как траекторию страдания», возникающие здесь различения,  структурные и динамические характеристики этого опыта.

Выявление структур биографических процессов, отражающих включение болезни в опыт жизни, может приобрести содержательное развитие и значимый дидактический смысл, если обратиться к пласту культурной истории, раскрывающей клинические аспекты биографии ее культурных героев. Этот любимый медиками за возможность отточить профессиональный аппарат жанр исследования «болезней великих людей» несет в себе гуманитарную и научно-медицинскую составляющие и дает прекрасную возможность, используя соответствующий инструментарий, увидеть болезнь в пространстве биографии как ее важную часть. Так, биомедицинская траектория болезни А. Блока (подострый септический эндокардит) соединяется с острым мировоззренческим  и экзистенциальным кризисом: «не хватает воздуха». Этот подход не решает сиюминутных практических терапевтических задач, но развивает индивидуализированный взгляд на болезнь, формирует навык, выходя за рамки биомедицинской траектории болезни, увидеть развитие патологии как факт биографии, осваивать накопленный в культуре опыт жизни с болезнью, «культивировать навыки сострадания и эмоциональной отзывчивости» у студентов-медиков (А.С. Готлиб) и таким образом пытаться уйти от одномерной фигуры врача-технолога.

Работы К. Богданова хорошо известны российскому читателю: исследователь восстановил и обогатил линию соотнесения литературы и медицины, идущую еще от А.П. Чехова, изучавшего «врачебное дело в России» на материале фольклорной традиции, исторических текстов.

Очевидно, что эта традиция имеет не только и не столько историко-литературный интерес. Русская литература ХIХ века, преодолевая, по словам И. Кондакова, границы собственно искусства, выступала своеобразным инструментом социо-культурных исследований. Этот присутствующий в литературе опыт «отзеркаливания» медицинских сюжетов в культурном сознании позволял, с одной стороны, исследовать особенности и закономерности развития медицинского дискурса – в контексте культуры, а с другой, обнаруживать культурную семантику медицинских артефактов. Предлагаемый сюжет – прекрасное учебное пособие для нынешних студентов-стоматологов, позволяющее обнаруживать культурные коннотации в сфере их профессиональной деятельности, одновременно увидеть закономерности становления «зубоврачебного» дела в России.

В заключении следует отметить: рецензируемый сборник – новаторское и неординарное явление в отечественной литературе.

Поиск новых подходов медико-гуманитарных исследований продиктован потребностями самой жизни. Не единожды отмечено противостояние «скоростных трасс» и «тропок» в отечественной медицине. Декларации и опыт научного и технико-технологического развития современной научной медицины (биомедицины, медицины высоких технологий) контрастируют реальному положению дел в отечественном здравоохранении, порождая закономерный вопрос: к кому обращен этот пир интеллектуальной и технической мысли, если в 2011 г. только 3% опрошенных респондентов назвали положение дел в отечественном здравоохранении хорошим, а 58 % – плохим (http://bd.fom.ru/report/map/d111807/printable/), если по данным опроса 2012 г. среди наиболее слабо развитых отраслей здравоохранение занимает третье место после сельского и лесного хозяйства (http://fom.ru/ekonomika/10577), если «люди избегают ходить в поликлинику» (http://fom.ru/blogs/10522).

Библиография

Богданов, К.А. (2005), Врачи, пациенты, читатели: патографические тексты русской культуры ХVIII–ХIХ веков, ОГИ, Москва.

Виноградов, Г.С. (1923), К изучению народной медицины у русского населения Сибири, Типография ГубВПО, Иркутск.

Коновалов, В.В. (1996), “Кризис медицины на рубеже ХХ–ХХI веков и пути его преодоления”, Человек, № 1, сс. 106–119.

Левин, А.М. (1887), “Аретей Каппадокийский (Этюд из истории греческой медицины)”, Врач, № 45, c. 873.

Лехциер, В.Л. (2012), “Нарративная медицина: светлая утопия доктора Риты Шэрон?”, Общество ремиссии: на пути к нарративной медицине, Самара, с.110.

Михель, Д.В. (2011), “Медикализация как социальный феномен”, Вестник СГТУ, № 4(60), вып.2, c. 258.

Российский, Д.М. (1956), История всеобщей и отечественной медицины и здравоохранения. Библиография (996–1954 гг.), Москва.

Филатов, Ф.Р. (2002), “Феномен болезни в различных системах знания: конфликт интерпретаций”, Московский психотерапевтический журнал, № 2, c. 6.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *